History / NFL Records of the New England Patriots

[ New England Patriots History ] [ New England Patriots Season Records and Coaches ] [ New England Patriots Team Records ]

Buffalo Bills AFC East Miami Dolphins AFC East New England Patriots AFC East New York Jets AFC East Baltimore Ravens AFC North Cincinnati Bengals AFC North Cleveland Browns AFC North Pittsburgh Steelers AFC North Houston Texans AFC South Indianapolis Colts AFC South Jacksonville Jaguars AFC South Tennessee Titans AFC South Denver Broncos AFC West Kansas City Chiefs AFC West Oakland Raiders AFC West San Diego Chargers AFC West Dallas Cowboys NFC East New York Giants NFC East Philadelphia Eagles NFC East Washington Redskins NFC East Chicago Bears NFC North Detroit Lions NFC North Green Bay Packers NFC North Minnesota Vikings NFC North Atlanta Falcons NFC South Carolina Panthers NFC South New Orleans Saints NFC South Tampa Bay Buccaneers NFC South Arizona Cardinals NFC West St. Loius Rams NFC West San Francisco 49ers NFC West Seattle Seahawks NFC West Menu for NFL Football Individual Team Histories.  While you are here check out our NFL Football pools!

Quick Stats

League Championships

2004 Super Bowl XXXVIII
2002 Super Bowl XXXVI

Conference Championships

1985 (AFC)
1996 (AFC)
2001 (AFC)
2003 (AFC)

Division Championships

1963 (AFL East)
1978 (AFC East)
1986 (AFC East)
1996 (AFC East)
1997 (AFC East)
2001 (AFC East)
2003 (AFC East)

Years in Playoffs

1963 1976 1978
1982 1985 1986
1994 1996 1997
1998 2001 2003

Retired Numbers

#78 Bruce Armstrong
#56 Andre Tippett
#20 Gino Cappelletti
#40 Mike Haynes
#57 Steve Nelson
#73 John Hannah
#79 Jim Lee Hunt
#89 Bob Dee

Hall of Fame Members

Nick Bouniconti
1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975 and 1976
John Hannah
1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984 and 1985
Mike Haynes
1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988 and 1989
Raymond Berry
1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988 and 1989

Previous Stadiums

Harvard University
(30,898), 1970
Foxboro Stadium
1971- 2001

New England Patriots Team History

New England Patriots history in the National Football League ( NFL ) supplied by Sports Pool .com. Sports Pool .com the best NFL football office pools on the net.

Professional football arrived in New England on November 16, 1959, when a group of local businessmen, led by former public relations executive William H. "Billy" Sullivan, Jr. was awarded the eighth and final franchise in the new American Football League. One week later, Northwestern University running back Ron Burton was selected as the franchiseís first draft choice and Syracuse running back Gerhardt Schwedes was selected as the teamís first territorial choice. The team's name is inspired by Boston's role in the American Revolution. From 1976 to 1986, the Patriots made it to the playoff's five times.

New England Patriots Franchise Information

Franchise Granted: 1960
First Season: 1960
Franchise History:
    1960 - 1969 Boston Patriots (AFL)
    1970 Boston Patriots (NFL)
    1971 - Present New England Patriots (NFL)

The new AFL team originally located in Boston, was named the Patriots because of the areaís heritage as the birthplace of the American Revolution.

New England Patriots - Stadium

Gillette Stadium

One Patriot Place
Foxborough, MA 02035-1388
(508) 543-8200
Seating capacity 68,000
Opened 2002
   New England Patriots

New England Patriots Chronological History

The team's name is inspired by Boston's role in the American Revolution. From 1976 to 1986, the Patriots made it to the playoff's five times.

The Patriots made their first trip to the Super Bowl following the 1985 season, but lost to the Green Bay Packers.

1960 - The Boston Patriots joined the AFL.

1963 - The Patriots tie for the Eastern Division Title.

1970 - The Patriots joined the NFL when the league merged with the AFL. The team re-located to Foxboro and changed their name from The Boston Patriots to The New England Patriots.

1985 - The Patriots lose the Super Bowl to the Chicago Bears 46-10.

1993 - After several dismal years, the Patriots return in force under quarterback Drew Bledsoe who led the NFL in passing yards at the time. The team makes a post-season appearance for the first time in many years.

1995 - The Patriots qualify for the post season.

1996 - The Patriots win the AFC Championship but fall to the Greenbay Packers in the Super Bowl.

2000 - Punter Lee Johnson became the all-time leading punter in NFL history, surpassing Dave Jennings mark of 1,154 punts. Johnson finished the 2000 season with 1,163 punts.

2002 - The Patriots win the Super Bowl 20-17 against the St. Louis Rams.

2004 - After an amazing season of 15 straight victories, The Patriots go on to win the Super Bowl yet again, establishing the second longest winning streak in the history of the NFL.
See all

Fan Zone - Show Your NFL Pride!

2016-08-29 15:44:56

Gisele McDonald
Kansas City Chiefs fan - Oaklahoma City

2016-08-29 15:45:06

Rosa Agostinelli
Green Bay Packers fan - Providence

2016-08-29 15:44:42

Amy Chalmers
Minnesota Vikinga fan - Portland Oregon
See all

Super Bowl History

2008 Champions

Super Bowl XLII Logo
New York Giants Super Bowl XLII
See more

1986 Champions

Super Bowl XX Logo
Chicago Bears Super Bowl XX
See more

1985 Champions

Super Bowl XIX Logo
San Francisco 49ers Super Bowl XIX
See more

1973 Champions

Super Bowl VII Logo
Miami Dolphins Super Bowl VII
See more