History / NFL Records of the Tennessee Titans

[ Tennessee Titans History ] [ Tennessee Titans Season Records and Coaches ] [ Tennessee Titans Team Records ]

Quick Stats

League Championships

1960 (AFL)
1961 (AFL)

Conference Championships

1999 (AFC)

Division Championships

1960 (AFL East)
1961 (AFL East)
1962 (AFL East)
1967 (AFL East)
1991 (AFC Central)
1993 (AFC Central)
2000 (AFC Central)
2002 (AFC South)

Years in Playoffs

1960 1961 1962
1967 1969 1978
1979 1980 1987
1988 1989 1990
1991 1992 1993
1999 2000 2002

Retired Numbers

#34 Earl Campbell
#43 Jim Norton
#63 Mike Munchak
#65 Elvin Beathea

Hall of Fame Members

George Blanda
1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965 and 1966
Sammy Baugh
John Henry Johnson
Ken Houston
1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971 and 1972
Elvin Bethea
1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982 and 1983
Charlie Joiner
1969, 1970, 1971 and 1972
Sid Gillman
1973 and 1974
Earl Campbell
1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983 and 1984
Mike Munchak
1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993
Dave Casper

Previous Stadiums

Jeppesen Stadium Houston
(23,500) 1960-64
Rice Stadium
(70,000) 1965-67
(59,969) 1968-96
Liberty Bowl
Memphis (62,380) 1997
Vanderbilt Stadium
Nashville (41,600) 1998
The Coliseum, Nashville
(68,798) 1999-
known as Adelphia Coliseum

Tennessee Titans Team History

Tennessee Titans history in the National Football League ( NFL ) supplied by Sports Pool .com. Sports Pool .com the best NFL football office pools on the net.

The Houston Oilers fielded strong teams in the now-defunct American Football League (AFL), capturing two league titles and reaching the playoffs five times before the AFL and NFL completed their merger in 1970. From 1978 to 1980 running back Earl Campbell, a four-time rushing champion, powered Houston to three straight playoff appearances. The Oilers were one of the AFC’s most consistent teams during the late 1980s and early 1990s, making seven consecutive postseason appearances from 1987 to 1993. The Oilers became charter members of the AFL in 1960, and that same year the franchise won the AFL’s first championship. Houston won another AFL championship a year later under head coach Wally Lemm, who oversaw a powerful offense with lineups that featured quarterback-placekicker George Blanda, running back Billy Cannon, and wide receivers Bill Groman and Charley Hennigan. The four helped the Oilers score an average of 36.6 points per game. Houston was so dominant that half of the team’s starting lineup played in the AFL All-Star Games following the 1961 and 1962 seasons.

Tennessee Titans Franchise Information

Franchise Granted: 1960
First Season: 1960
Franchise History:
    1960 - 1969 Houston Oilers (AFL)
    1970 - 1996 Houston Oilers (NFL)
    1997 - 1998 tennessee Oilers (NFL)
    1999 - Present tennessee titans (NFL)

Originally located in Houston, the team was known as the Oilers. After playing two seasons as the Tennessee Oilers, team owner Bud Adams formed an advisory committee to research names and a “Guess the Name” contest to gain additional feedback was also held. The committee selected Titans citing the desire to have a nickname that reflected “strength, leadership and other heroic qualities.”

Tennessee Titans - Stadium

The Coliseum

One Titan Way
Nashville, TN 37213
Surface Grass
Seating 67,000
Opened Sept. 12, 1999
Phone (615) 565-4300
   Tennessee Titans

Tennessee Titans Chronological History

1959 K.S. “Bud” Adams Jr, announces Houston’s entry into the American Football League

1960 Oilers win first AFL Championship by defeating the Los Angeles Chargers 24-16 before 32,000 fans at jappesen Stadium.

1961 Oilers win second consecutive AFL Championship by defeating the Chargers 10-3 at San Diego. Billy Cannon wins his second consecutive MVP award.

1962 Oilers loose AFL championship to Dallas Texans in a historic 6 quarter game by the score of 10-17

1984 Oilers and City of Houston celebrate 25th season of professional football at “Silver Salute”, which is held on the floor of the Astrodome. The black-tie gala consists of dinner, dancing and an auction with all proceeds benefiting the Ronald McDonald House. This date is also proclaimed “Houston Oilers Day” by Mayor Kathryn J. Whitmire.

1984 Warren Moon completes his first NFL Season with 3,338 yards passing, breaking the team record previously set by George Blanda in 1961 (3,330).

1990 Warren Moon becomes the all-time leading passer in club history. Moon throws for 308 years with three TDs to surpass George Blanda’s team record of 19,149 yars.

1996 The National Football League approves the relocation of the Oilers to Nashville in a special owners meeting held in Atlanta Georga.

1997 Oilers formally announce the clubs intention to play the 1997 Season in Tennessee and introduce the inaugural patch and logo which merges the Oilers Traditional “Oil derrick” with the Tennessee state flag.

1998 Oilers Owner K.S. “Bud” Adams, Jr., announces that the Oilers will become the “Tennesse Titans beginning in 1999.

1999 Titans unveil new uniforms and helmets before packed crowd at the new stadium.

2003 Titans play in franchise 4th AFC championship game but fall short at Oakland by the score of 41-24