Jacksonville Jaguars Team History

Jacksonville Jaguars, professional football team and one of six teams in the Central Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) of the National Football League (NFL). The Jaguars, along with the Carolina Panthers, joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1995. Under the NFL realignment plan in 2002, the Jaguars play in the South Division of the AFC.

The club plays all of their home games at EverBank Field, located near the St. Johns River in downtown Jacksonville. The team headquarters is also located in the stadium. The Jaguars hold training camp and practice during the season in the stadium and on adjoining practice fields. They are the only team in the "big four" sports leagues to play in the city of Jacksonville. Since their inception the Jaguars have won two division championships and have made six playoff appearances.

Jaguars wear uniforms of teal, black, and gold. Jacksonville joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1995. During the Jaguars’ first year, the team fielded the AFC’s worst defense, losing nine games by more than 24 points. Offensively, however, they were successful. Mark Brunell who had previously played in only two NFL games posted the highest rating of any expansion-team quarterback in league history. He also led all NFL quarterbacks that year in rushing, becoming the first AFC quarterback to run for more than 400 yards in a season since Mike Pagel of the Baltimore Colts (now Indianapolis Colts) in 1983. Overall, Jacksonville’s offensive performance ranked third all-time among first-year franchises.

Jacksonville Jaguars Chronological History

In Chicago, Jacksonville is awarded the 30th franchise in the National Football League.
The Jaguars announce a season ticket sellout for their first three seasons. Over 56,000 season tickets are sold through Dec. 31, just one month after the awarding of the team.
December 15th The Jaguars sign the first 10 players in team history: WR Shannon Baker, LB Hillary Butler, DE Ferric Collons, OL Greg Huntington, RB Randy Jordan, DE Ernie Logan, OT Rickie Shaw, DE Jason Simmons, DE Ricky Sutton, DE Chris Williams.
The Jaguars defeat AFC Central rival Pittsburgh Steelers 20-16 for their first home victory, the only time in NFL history an expansion team has ever defeated a team that would go on to play in the Super Bowl the same season.
Mark Brunell throws for a team-record 432 yards and three touchdowns, but the Jaguars lose their first-ever overtime game 28-25 at New England.
In 1997, the stadium changed its name to Alltel Stadium after naming rights were acquired by Alltel, a telecommunications company best known as a wireless carrier. The name Alltel Stadium stopped being used by the city after January 2007 when the contract expired.
The Jaguars explode for a team-record number of points in a 45-19 victory at Baltimore. Jacksonville scored six TDs in the first half the seventh most ever in a half in NFL history as they jumped out to a 42-7 lead. Fred Taylor’s 78-yard TD reception becomes the longest play from scrimmage in team history.
The Jaguars trounce the Miami Dolphins 62-7 in the Divisional Playoffs in what would be the last game for Dan Marino and Jimmy Johnson. Jacksonville’s 62 points and 55-point margin are the second most ever in NFL postseason history, and Fred Taylor’s 90-yard run is the longest ever in an NFL playoff game.
The Jaguars shut out the Browns 48-0 in the most dominating game in team history. Cleveland has only two first downs and 53 yards on offense. For the Jaguars, Fred Taylor runs for 181 yards and three TDs to pass the 1,000-yard rushing mark, Jimmy Smith surpasses 1,000 yards receiving for the fifth straight season and Mark Brunell reaches the 3,000-yard mark passing.
Wayne Weaver asks Tom Coughlin to step down as head coach, following eight seasons in which he led the team to a 68-60 record and four playoff appearances.
The Jaguars hired Jack Del Rio as head coach. Del Rio was a linebacker during the late 80s and early 90s before retiring. He was formerly the Carolina Panthers' defensive coordinator, bringing the team's defensive ranking from 30th to second
The Jaguars became the first NFL team to have three African-American quarterbacks on their roster. The quarterbacks were Byron Leftwich, David Garrard, and Quinn Gray.
Maurice Jones-Drew, the Jaguars' second round draft pick, was one of the more surprising rookies in the NFL. He averaged 5.7 yards a carry, the highest in the league, and tied for third in the NFL with 16 touchdowns.
On August 31, 2007, the Jaguars announced that long time back-up quarterback David Garrard would start for the team, ahead of former first round draft pick Byron Leftwich, who was released in the team's final roster cuts. Garrard led the Jaguars to an 11-5 record and a wild card spot in the playoffs
The Jaguars hoped to begin a new era in 2009 under new general manager Gene Smith
The team and the City of Jacksonville undertook several measures aimed at ensuring the franchise's continued viability in Jacksonville. Supporters began the "Team Teal" drive to drum up ticket sales. The city negotiated a five-year, $16.6 million naming rights deal with Jacksonville-based EverBank to rename the stadium EverBank Field. As a result the Jaguars' attendance increased dramatically in 2010. While attendance figures were stagnant for most of the NFL, Jacksonville saw an increase of 36.5%, by far the highest in the league, and had none of their home games blacked out
David Garrard was released just days before the start of the 2011 season. On November 29, 2011, owner Wayne Weaver announced the firing of head coach Jack Del Rio, whose record had been 3-8 through the first 12 weeks of the season and 68-71 over his nine-year tenure.
Immediately following the announcement of Del Rio being fired, Weaver also announced that the team would be sold to Illinois businessman Shahid Khan. Khan's assumption of ownership was approved a couple of weeks later by the NFL owners, and Khan took over full ownership on January 4, 2012. He immediately began the team's search for head coaching candidates. On January 10, 2012, former Atlanta Falcons offensive coordinator Mike Mularkey was named head coach of the Jaguars
On January 8, 2013, former Atlanta Falcons Director of Player Personnel David Caldwell was hired as the second full-time General Manager in Jaguars history. On January 17, 2013, former Seattle Seahawks defensive coordinator Gus Bradley was named head coach of the Jaguars.

Jacksonville Jaguars Franchise Information

  • Franchise Granted: 1993
  • First Season: 1995
  • Franchise History:
  • 1995 - Present Jacksonville Jaguars (NFL)

The Jaguars name was selected through a fan contest. Finalists for the name included the Sharks, Stingrays and even Panthers, but Jaguars was ultimately selected on December 6, 1991

Jacksonville Jaguars - Stadium

Jacksonville Jaguars Stadium

EverBank Field

Formerly: Jacksonville Municipal Stadium (1995-1996, 2007-2009) Alltel Stadium (1997-2006) One EverBank Field Drive Jacksonville, Fla. 32202 Surface: Grass Seating: 76,867 Cost: $121 Million Opened: Aug. 18, 1995 Phone: (904) 633-6000 Tenants: Jacksonville Jaguars (NFL) (1995-present) Florida-Georgia football rivalry (NCAA) (1995-present) Gator Bowl (NCAA) (1996-present) ACC Championship Game (NCAA) (2005-2007)

Previous Stadiums


Jacksonville Jaguars

Jacksonville Jaguars history


Gus Bradley
2013 -
Mike Mularkey
Mel Tucker
Jack Del Rio
2003 - 2011
Tom Coughlin
1995 - 2002

Retired Numbers


League Championships


Conference Championships


Division Championships

1998 (AFC Central), 1999 (AFC Central)

Wild Card Wins

1996 (AFC Central), 1998 (AFC Central), 2007 (AFC South)

Years in Playoffs

1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2005, 2007

Hall of Fame Members