Atlanta Motor Speedway Track Information - Nascar Racing Tracks - NASCAR Office Pools - NASCAR Auto Racing Pools

Atlanta Motor Speedway Nascar Track Information

Atlanta Motor Speedway Race Track Information Page

Atlanta Motor Speedway

Official Website
Ticket Office
P.O. Box 500
Hampton, GA 30228
Ph: 770-946-4211

Track Facts

Opened 1960

Track Length
1.54 miles
Length of Frontstretch
1,415 feet
Length of Backstretch
1,320 feet
Banking in Corners 24°
Banking on Straights 5°

Grandstand Seating: 124,000

Qualifying Record
Billy Boat - 8/28/98
224.145 mph (24.734 sec.)

Race Record
Dale Earnhardt- 11/12/95
163.633 mph

Laps 203 laps=312.62 miles,
325 laps=500.5 miles

Owner: Bruton Smith

Atlanta Motor Speedway. Laps 203 laps=312.62 miles, 325 laps=500.5 miles, Track Length 1.54 miles, Length of Frontstretch 1,415 feet, Length of Backstretch 1,320 feet
Image Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bass Pro Shops MBNA 500

Brief History

Atlanta Motor Speedway’s first NASCAR Winston Cup Series race was the Dixie 300 held on July 31, 1960. Fans that year witnessed Fireball Roberts win the inaugural race at Atlanta. Currently Dale Earnhardt holds the record of most career wins at Atlanta with nine, followed by Cale Yarborough with seven. On November 19, 1997 Geoffrey Bodine rocketed around Atlanta Motor Speedway at 197.478 mph (28.074 seconds) in qualifying for the NAPA 500, a record that still stands. The 1997 season marked the first race on the redesigned 1.54-mile track when the old backstretch became the start-finish line. Learn more by visiting

Nascar track Atlanta Motor Speedway.  Track owner Bruton Smith, Race Record Dale Earnhardt, Qualifying Record Billy Boat

Past Results

Busch Series

2003 Greg Biffle Chev 2002 Jamie McMurray Chev 2001 Joe Nemechek Chev 2000 Mark Martin Ford 1999 Mike Skinner Chev 1998 Mark Martin Ford 1997 Mark Martin Ford 1996 Terry Labonte Chev 1665 Johnny Benson Chev 1994 Harry Gant Chev 1993 Ward Burton Chev 1992 Jeff Gordon Ford

Winston Cup

2003 Bobby Labonte Chev Jeff Gordon Chev 2002 Tony Stewart Pont Kurt Busch Ford 2001 Kevin Harvick Chev Bobby Labonte Pont 2000 Dale Earnhardt Chev Jerry Nadeau Chev 1999 Jeff Gordon Chev Bobby Labonte Pont 1998 Bobby Labonte Pont Jeff Gordon Chev 1997 Dale Jarrett Ford Bobby Labonte Pont 1996 Dale Earnhardt Chev Bobby Labonte Chev 1995 Jeff Gordon Chev Dale Earnhardt Chev 1994 Ernie Irvan Ford Mark Martin Ford 1993 Morgan Shepherd Ford Rusty Wallace Pont 1992 Bill Elliott Ford Bill Elliott Ford 1991 Ken Schrader Chev Mark Martin Ford 1990 Dale Earnhardt Chev Morgan Shepherd Ford 1989 Darrell Waltrip Chev Dale Earnhardt Chev 1988 Dale Earnhardt Chev Rusty Wallace Pont 1987 Ricky Rudd Ford Bill Elliott Ford 1986 Morgan Shepherd Buic Dale Earnhardt Chev 1985 Bill Elliott Ford Bill Elliott Ford 1984 Benny Parsons Chev Dale Earnhardt Chev 1983 Cale Yarborough Chev Neil Bonnett Chev 1982 Darrell Waltrip Buic Bobby Allison Buic 1981 Cale Yarborough Buic Neil Bonnett Ford 1980 Dale Earnhardt Chev Cale Yarborough Chev 1979 Buddy Baker Olds Neil Bonnett Merc 1978 Bobby Allison Ford Donnie Allison Chev 1977 Richard Petty Dodg Darrell Waltrip Chev 1976 David Pearson Merc Dave Marcis Dodg 1975 Richard Petty Dodg Buddy Baker Ford 1974 Cale Yarborough Chev Richard Petty Dodg 1973 David Pearson Merc David Pearson Merc 1972 Bobby Allison Chev Bobby Allison Chev 1971 A.J. Foyt Merc Richard Petty Plym 1970 Bobby Allison Dodg Richard Petty Plym 1969 Cale Yarborough Merc LeeRoy Yarborough Ford 1968 Cale Yarborough Merc LeeRoy Yarborough Merc 1967 Cale Yarborough Ford Dick Hutcherson Ford 1966 Jim Hurtubise Plym Richard Petty Plym 1965 Marvin Panch Ford Marvin Panch Ford 1964 Fred Lorenzen Ford Ned Jarrett Ford 1963 Fred Lorenzen Ford Junior Johnson Chev 1962 Fred Lorenzen Ford Rex White Chev 1961 Bob Burdick Pont David Pearson Pont 1960 Bobby Johns Pont Bobby Johns Pont  © 1998-2018 Privacy Policy
Website Created By InDemand Sales & Solutions