PGA Course Profiles - Profiles of the PGA Golf Championships - Golf Courses - Golf Course Profiles

PGA Tour - The Real Club de Golf de Sevilla Course

Home of the 2005 WGC - World Cup

The Real Club de Golf de Sevilla Course

Course Outline


Hole   Par   Yards
  Address: Autovía Sevilla-Utrera, Km. 3,2 ALCALA DE GUADAIRA 41500 SEVILLE Opened: 1995
Course Par: 72
Holes: 18
Male Yardage: 6529
Course Designer: José María Olazábal

The par-72 The Real Club de Golf de Sevilla is 6,529 yards from the championship tees. "It was designed 10 years ago and I did not think that in such a short space of time it would be able to hold such an important event. From an objective point of view, I am very proud and full of satisfaction," he said. In Olazábal's opinion, "over the last 10 years the course has matured greatly thanks to the quality of the grass and the planting of trees and vegetation." The Spanish golfer lays great stress on the course's length and difficulty around the greens. "The greens are very well protected by bunkers and that is where the difficulty and worth of the course is really apparent." Olazábal says that No. 15 "is probably the most complicated of all, depending on wind speed and direction. This is where the end of the round really gets interesting and becomes decisive. The arrival to No. 16, a par 5, is good and we will see a lot of birdies and a few eagles. No. 17 is a difficult par 3 and the fairway to No. 18 is going to be narrowed slightly in order to increase its difficulty." Olazábal further explained, "the course was built on an estate that was excessively flat, but it was landscaped to a great degree, in order to make it quite frankly, a good -- no -- a great course. It will be a hard test for all of the players since they will have to use all types of shots. They will have to use all of the clubs in their bag and the way I see it, the players will reach the par 5s well while the par 3s and 4s will be a real challenge."

Previous winners include, 1970 Australia (David Graham/Bruce Devlin) Buenos Aires, Argentina * 1971 United States (Jack Nicklaus/Lee Trevino) Palm Beach, USA * 1972 Taiwan (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan) Melbourne, Australia * 1973 United States (Johnny Miller/Jack Nicklaus) Marbella, Spain * 1974 South Africa (Bobby Cole/Dale Hayes) Caracas, Venezuela * 1975 United States (Johnny Miller/Lou Graham Bangkok, Thailand * 1976 Spain (Manuel Pinero/Seve Ballesteros) Palm Springs, CA, USA * 1977 Spain (Antonio Garrido/Seve Ballesteros) Manila, Philippines * 1978 United States (John Mahaffey/Andy North) Princeville Makai, Hawaii, USA * 1979 United States (John Mahaffey/Hale Irwin) Athens, Greece * 1980 Canada (Dan Halldorson/Jim Nelford) Bogota, Colombia * 1981 No Tournament * 1982 Spain (Manual Pinero/Jose-Maria Canizares) Acapulco, Mexico * 1983 United States (Rex Caldwell/John Cook) Jakarta, Indonesia * 1984 Spain (Jose-Maria Canizares/Jose Rivero) Rome, Italy * 1985 Canada (Dave Barr/Dan Halldorson) La Quinta, CA, USA * 1986 No Tournament * 1987 Wales (Ian Woosnam/David Llewellyn) Maui, Hawaii, USA * 1988 United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber) Melbourne, Australia * 1989 Australia (Peter Fowler/Wayne Grady) Marbella, Spain * 1990 Germany (Bernhard Langer/Torsten Giedeon) Orlando, FL, USA * 1991 Sweden (Per-Ulrik Johansson/Anders Forsbrand) Roma, Italy * 1992 United States (Fred Couples/Davis Love III) Madrid, Spain * 1993 United States (Fred Couples/Davis Love III) Orlando, FL, USA * 1994 United States (Fred Couples/Davis Love III) Dorado, Puerto Rico * 1995 United States (Fred Couples/Davis Love III) Shenzhan, China * 1996 South Africa (Ernie Els/Wayne Westner) Cape Town, South Africa * 1997 Ireland (Padraig Harrington/Paul McGinley) Kiawah Is., SC, USA * 1998 England (Nick Faldo/David Carter Auckland, NZ * 1999 United States (Tiger Woods/Mark O’Meara) Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia * As World Golf Championships-World Cup 2000 United States (Tiger Woods/David Duval) Buenos Aires, Argentina * 2001 South Africa (Ernie Els/Retief Goosen) Gotemba City, Japan * 2002 Japan (ShigekiMaruyama/Toshi Izawa) Puerto Vallarta, Mexico * 2003 South Africa (Trevor Immelman and Rory Sabbatini) Kiawah Island, USA * and more.

Home of the WGC - World Cup Tournament
[Real Club de Golf de Sevilla Homepage]
[Back to PGA Course Profiles]  © 1998-2019 Privacy Policy
Website Created By InDemand Sales & Solutions